top of page

Built upon a solid foundation.

The Mid-1800's - Early Beginnings

The farmhouse at Stoutridge Vineyard dates back to the mid-1800s and was built by pioneering Italian immigrants. Though the builder’s name is lost to time, we do know that at some point, the farm became a part of the historic 80+ acre McCourt fruit farm. On April 1, 1895, Hannah McCourt sold off a 14-acre parcel to Moses McMullen, the majority of what is now Stoutridge. Moses farmed the land for seven years until he sold it to Vincenzo Marino on January 31, 1902.


1902 - Winery Conversion

1902 was an auspicious year for the farm. Vincenzo converted his barn into a winery and began producing wine commercially. He did so until his death on March 12, 1919. The Alcohol Prohibition amendment to the US constitution was ratified later that spring. This no doubt was an unfortunate turn of events for Vincenzo’s heirs, and they squabbled over the winery and land and eventually lost the entire farm. The land was about to experience a drastic change.

1923 - Prohibition Era

On May 8, 1923, Joseph Noto of Miami, Florida bought the land. This was at the height of Prohibition. Joseph immediately dismantled Marono’s winery, and built a pig barn and automobile garage. He and his family farmed the fruit orchards and grapevines until his death on July 24, 1944. There are many local tales of large Sunday gatherings and baseball games played at the Noto farm. To this day people in Marlboro refer to the land as "The old Noto Farm."


1945 - Changing Hands

On August 28, 1945, Joseph Olivo bought the farm from Joseph Noto’s heirs. But sold it seven years thereafter in 1952 to Philippa Turrigiano. Philippa used the farmhouse as a consolidation warehouse for illegal brandy production. Oddly enough, this was actually a very popular activity on farms throughout Marlboro at the time. With incarceration virtually inevitable, Philippa was arrested at the farmhouse by federal agents in early January of 1956. The land was confiscated due to tax issues and the farm was sold at a government auction on January 20, 1956, to Dominic Pagnotta II.

1969 - A Different Use

Dominic and his family maintained fruit trees and grapevines until his death in 1969. Dominic III became a teacher and used the land for hunting and as a training ground for pistol and rifle use with the New York State Hunter Safety Program. In 2006, Dominic at the age of 70, became the champion of  "The Empire Grand American" event. Once again, however, the land was about to experience another drastic change.

IMG_4067 (1).JPG

2000 - Stoutridge is Born

In June of 2001, Stephen Osborn and Kimberly Wagner bought an abandoned farm and vineyard from Dominic and JoAnn Pagnotta. Together, the two began to rebuild the completely destroyed farmhouse, vineyards and to build a state-of-the-art, gravity-flow winery. Plus, the start of our land stewardship, sustainability plan, and connection to the local farm community in the Hudson Valley. 

2006 - Winery & Tasting Room Open

After five long years, Stoutridge opened the doors to what is our Tasting Room. This showcased our natural wines that are made the "old-fashioned way", and use locally grown fruit. Everything we do is to maintain the local, native ecosystem and to foster local farming relationships. Paying homage to the former families and communities that once existed. OUr natural wines quickly began winning awards and are still critically acclaimed.


2017 -The Distillery Opens


Owners Steve and Kim expanded their craft to include small-batch spirits, and we opened the doors to the Distillery in 2017. This is a very uniquely-built and innovatively designed Distillery. Especially for the Hudson Valley region.

One of the most unique aspects of the Distillery is the malting and kilning floors. Stoutridge is one of eight distilleries in America to do its own malting and the ONLY Distillery in the U.S. with a traditional Scottish style kilning floor.

bottom of page